How quickly everything can change.

After pushing the send button on that last post about unspace, virtual blood/sweat/tears, and forgetfulness, I sat in my office feeling a) jubilant to be done with the damn stubborn thing, and b) a laughably self-important sense of professional isolation—the noble lone wolf. I didn’t get to relish my lone wolf pose for long, though. Moments later, Bill walked in and announced he had started a blog.

Bill Binkelman is a friend and Hamline University colleague. We work in adjacent offices, so we see each other daily. In a higher education culture that generally is obsessed with values degrees and scholarly research, Bill is a bastion of sheer unfettered intelligence, a loud and proud autodidact. He’s one of the smartest people I know, and his generous streak runs a mile wide. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of cinema, computer applications, and just about everything else under the sun. Bill also happens to be one of the world’s preeminent music critics in the new age/ambient genre. (The "ambient" label is distinct from or encompasses other genres and subgenres, such as electronica and spacemusic, in ways that are completely lost on me. Sorry, Bill, for any unintended trampling of the nuances.) Since 1997, he’s published an influential music review website called Wind and Wire, and has written extensively for various other publications. It’s not hyperbole to say he’s an icon in the field, the Lester Bangs of ambient music criticism.

After a yearlong break from Wind and Wire, Bill had in mind using a blog format to take a different approach : reviews that are punchier, shorter, and with a more critical edge.

I’ve always tried to write lengthy
detailed reviews of ambient music, a genre that, IMO, is sometimes (but
not always) ill-suited for that type of analysis. Some, but not all, of
the new reviews of ambient, electronica, chill-out, spacemusic, etc.
you will read here will be shorter and also may come across as being
more critical (some may be outright pans). This latter change reflects
my reaction to what has been the most oft-criticized aspect of my
reviewing in the past, i.e. I’m too “soft” and don’t write enough about
my negative reactions to recordings I receive for review. Since, many
artists and fans have expressed a desire to read more “critical”
reviews of ambient music over the years, I decided to give them (you)
what you want.

He was also interested in fostering a closer, more interactive relationship with readers and artists. Comments? Did someone say comments? A few minutes of consultation and tinkering on the Blogger set-up page later. . .

The new Wind and Wire blog was born, and my corner of unspace cracked open to admit a ray of sunlight. Clay Burell commented on experiencing a similar moment with his assistant principal.

I was waiting to set my Asst. Principal up on his Twitter account
and welcome him into the network, and walk him through his first blog
post.

Cool that a covert Life 2.0 experience in Life 1.0 led to a new initiate into the former.

Must be something in the air. Whatever it is, I like it. Welcome to the blogosphere, Bill. We look forward to great things.      

